APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES 2017-2018 (Appointed by the Annual Council)

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (15)

Constitution: 15 Members (excluding members of the Cabinet and the Chairman of the Council) based on political proportionality

Political Balance: Conservative Lib Dem Independent Group

13 1 1

Chairman: Mrs Clare Apel (LD)	
Vice-Chairman: Mrs Norma Graves (C)	
Mr Peter Budge (C)	Caroline Neville (C)
Mr Myles Cullen (C) – replaced by Mr Keith	Mr John Connor (C)
Martin (C)	
Mr Pam Dignum (C)	Mr Henry Potter (C)
Mr Nigel Galloway(C)	Mr Josef Ransley (C)
Mr Nick Thomas(C)	Mr Andrew Shaxson (IND)
Mr Graham Hicks (C)	Mrs Julie Tassell (C)
Mr Simon Lloyd-Williams (C)	

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE (10)

Constitution: 10 Members of Council including the Cabinet Member for Finance & Governance and a representative from the Overview & Scrutiny Committee, and the membership to be based on political proportionality.

Political Balance: Conservative Lib Dem Independent Group 8 1 1

Chairman: Mrs Tricia Tull (C)	
Vice-Chairman: Mr Graeme Barrett (C)	
Mr Ian Curbishley (C) – replaced by Mr	Mr Graham Hicks (C)
Peter Wilding (C)	
Mr Tom Dempster (C)	Mr Francis Hobbs (C)
Mrs Norma Graves (C)	Mr Paul Jarvis (C) – replaced by Mr Jonathan
	Brown (LD)
Mrs Philippa Hardwick (C)	Mr Steve Morley (IND)

PLANNING COMMITTEE (15)

Constitution: 15 Members of the Council

Political Balance: Conservative Lib Dem Independent Group

13 1 1

Chairman: Mr Bob Hayes (C)	
Vice-Chairman: Mrs Jane Kilby (C)	
Mr Graeme Barrett (C)	Mrs Carol Purnell (C)
Mr Myles Cullen (C) – replaced by Mr	Mr Gordon McAra (IND)
Darren Wakeham (C)	
Mrs Janet Duncton (C)	Mr Simon Oakley (C)
Mr Mark Dunn (C)	Mr Richard Plowman (LD)
Mr John F Elliott (C)	Mrs Julie Tassell (C)
Mr Mike Hall (C)	Mrs Tricia Tull (C)
Mr Les Hixson (C)	

Rules on Membership of Planning Committee:

- Chairman not to be a Cabinet Member (DOE Statutory Guidance paragraph 5.18)
- Subject to the requirements of political balance and diversity, party group leaders are encouraged to apply the following criteria:
 - a) Non Cabinet members only.
 - b) Not more than one member from any ward.
 - c) A fair and reasonable geographical spread recognising
 - (i) the size of the district and
 - (ii) The South Downs National Park.
 - d) Members to show commitment to the process by being available for the whole of each committee meeting (and pre-arranged member site visits) other than for exceptional reasons.
 - e) Members to attend formal training sessions and to be able to demonstrate a reasonable grasp of and familiarity with basic planning principles, policy and guidance i.e.:
 - i. Clearly demonstrate that they understand the need to apply planning policy and planning considerations in making decisions.
 - Show an understanding of the tensions between policy and public expectations and while representing their ward(s) recognise this is a districtwide responsibility.
 - iii. Demonstrate an understanding of the protocols for speaking to the public at planning meetings.
 - iv. Demonstrate a clear understanding of the protocol for speaking at parish meetings and other face to face communications without fettering their discretion.
 - v. Exercise reasoned and balanced judgment in making decisions.
 - f) Members to be able to demonstrate willingness to attend sessions to review the quality of planning decisions (e.g. tour of completed developments).

GENERAL LICENSING COMMITTEE (15)

Constitution: 15 Members of Council (including at least one member of the Cabinet)

Political Balance: Conservative Lib Dem Independent Group

13 1 1

Chairman: Mr John Ridd (C)	
Vice-Chairman: Mr Henry Potter (C)	
Mr Graeme Barrett (C)	Mr Len Macey (C)
Mrs C Purnell (C)	Mr Gordon McAra (IND)
Mr Peter Budge (C)	Mr Nigel Galloway (C) - replaced by Mrs
	Penny Plant (C)
Mr John Connor (C)	Mr Nick Thomas (C)
Mr John W Elliott (C)	Mr Darren Wakeham (C)
Mr Paul Jarvis (C) – replaced by Mr	Mrs Sandra Westacott (LD)
Christopher Page (C)	
Mrs Denise Knightley (C) – replaced by Mr	
Andrew Collins (C)	

Rules on Membership of the General Licensing Committee:

 As the Committee deals with licensing statutes other than the Licensing Act 2003 the Political Groups Regulations do apply (Schedule 1 to Local Government and Housing Act 1989).

ALCOHOL AND ENTERTAINMENT LICENSING COMMITTEE (15)

Constitution: 15 Members of Council (including at least one member of the Cabinet)

Not subject to political balance, but membership the same as General Licensing Committee

Rules on Membership of the Alcohol and Entertainment Committee:

- The membership must be from 10 to a maximum of 15 (section 6 of the *Licensing Act 2003*).
- Political Groups Regulations do not apply as the committee deals only with licences under the *Licensing Act 2003*.

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (7)

Constitution: 7 Members of the Council

3 parish councillors are co-opted in a non-voting capacity

The Independent Person(s) appointed by the Council in accordance with section 28 (7) of the *Localism Act 2011* are invited to attend meetings of the

committee in an advisory capacity

Political balance applies to the members of Chichester District Council

Political Balance:

Conservative	Lib Dem	Independent Group
6	1	0

Chairman: Mrs Philippa Hardwick (C)	
Vice-Chairman: Mrs Clare Apel (LD)	
Mr Mark Dunn (C)	Mrs Carol Purnell (C)
Mr Graham Hicks (C)	Mrs Julie Tassell (C)
Mr Paul Jarvis (C) – Replaced by Mrs Jane	
Kilby (C)	

INVESTIGATION AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE (5 plus 2 subs)

Constitution: 5 members of Council, including at least 1 member of the Cabinet. 2 substitute members of Council, the membership to be politically balanced (page 56 of Part 3 of the Constitution).

Political Balance: Conservative Lib Dem Independent Group 6 1 0

Cabinet Member: Mrs Penny Plant (C)	Mr Paul Jarvis (C) – Replaced by Mrs Jane Kilby (C)
Mrs Carol Purnell (C)	Mr Josef Ransley (C)
Mr Andrew Shaxson (IND) – Replaced by	
Mrs Sandra Westacott (LD)	
Substitutes: Mr Mark Dunn (C)	
Mr Graham Hicks (C)	

APPEALS COMMITTEE (5 members plus 2 subs)

Constitution: 5 members of Council, including at least 1 member of the Cabinet; 2 substitute members of Council. No member of the Investigation and Disciplinary Committee shall be a member of the Appeals Committee; membership to be politically balanced (page 57 of Part 3 of the Constitution).

Political Balance: Conservative Lib Dem Independent Group 6 1 0

Cabinet Member: Mrs Susan Taylor (C)	Mrs Clare Apel (LD)
Mr Peter Budge (C)	Mrs Pam Dignum (C)
Mrs Janet Duncton (C)	
Substitutes: Mr Tony Dignum (C)	
Mr Mike Hall (C)	